lifestyle

Filed under: Events, Lifestyle

Vieux Farka Toure to grace Accra’s Alliance Francaise

Vieux Farka Toure will be performing at the Alliance Francaise in Ghana, on December 1, 2012 at 8 p.m.  This Malian singer and guitarist is the son of Grammy award-winning musician, Ali Farka Toure.

Vieux Farka Toure

His style mixes west African sounds, latin rythms and elements of rock to provide a creatively eclectic genre that is somewhat difficult to define, but beautiful to listen to.

His live performances are highly energized and Vieux is known for dazzling crowds with his speed and dexterity on the guitar, as well as his palpable charisma and luminous smile, both of which captivate audiences from all audiences in spite of any language barriers (although Vieux does speak 8 languages).

“The son of the late Malian guitarist Ali Farka Touré inherited his dad’s dazzlingly fluid phrasing but clearly also digs the fiery African blues rock of bands like Tinariwen. Here, he joins American peers for a crossover set that slays”- Rolling Stone

This is a continuation of his Africa tour which started in Praia, Cape Verde on November 17, 2012.  His next shows will be as follows:

Tue. Dec 4, 2012 Le Centre Culturelle Français Kumasi, Ghana
Fri. Dec 8, 2012 Le Centre Culturelle Français Malabo, Equatorial Guinea
Tue. Dec 11, 2012 Le Centre Culturelle Français Bata, Equatorial Guinea
Sat. Dec 15, 2012 Le Centre Culturelle Français Libreville, Gabon
Wed. Dec 19, 2012 Le Centre Culturelle Français Brazzaville, Congo
Sat. Dec 22, 2012 Le Centre Culturelle Français Pointe-Noire, Congo
Wed. Jan 9, 2012 Le Centre Culturelle Français Nairobi, Kenya
Fri. Jan 11, 2012 Le Centre Culturelle Français Antananarivo, Madagascar
Thur. Jan 17, 2012 Le Centre Culturelle Français Bulawayo, Zimbabwe
Sat. Jan 19, 2012 Bassline Johannesburg, South Africa Tickets
Sat. Jan 20, 2012 Rainbow Jazz Club Durban, South Africa Tickets
Sat. Jan 26, 2012 Le Centre Culturelle Français Kigali, Rwanda
Tue. Jan 29, 2012 Le Centre Culturelle Français Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Fri. Feb 1, 2013 UCLA Royce Hall Los Angeles, CA Tickets
Sat. Mar 23, 2013 L’estive Foix, France Tickets
Fri. April 12, 2013 L’arc Rezé, France Tickets
Sat. April 13, 2013 L’Espace Albert Camus Maurepas, France Tickets

Share

Share to Google Plus

  • Print
  • Send to a Friend





    Email to a Friend

Find other stories like this

Be the first to respond to this story!


LEAVE A COMMENT

This form will not register you for the Jamati.com Email Newsletter

Join Us

twitter facebook Our Newsletter
Jamati YouTube Channel