Filed under: Game Time, Sports

Emirates Airline Dubai Rugby hosts three African teams

The rugby excitement is growing feverish as the Emirates Airline Dubai Rugby draws near.   It is slated to run from November 29 thru December 1.

Emirates Airline Dubai Rugby Sevens

The competition has attracted three African teams representing Kenya and South Africa.  Kenya has one men’s team and South Africa has one men’s and one women’s team.  South Africa is hoping to redeem themselves after last year’s loss in the quarter finals to France.    They will have their work cut out for them as they are in Pool C with heavyweights Samoa, England, and Portugal.

Kenya is in Pool A with Spain, Scotland and Fiji.  Pool B is made up of New Zealand, Argentina, Wales, and Russia.  Pool D has France, Australia, Canada, and USA.

The other men’s teams come from Argentina, Australia, Canada, England, Fiji, France, New Zealand, Portugal, Russia, Samoa, Scotland, Spain, United States, and Wales.

The women’s teams come from Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, England, France, Netherlands,New Zealand, Russia, Spain, and USA.

Following their win on the Gold Coast, Fiji have an early lead in the HSBC Sevens World Series 2012/13. They currently lie on 22 points ahead of New Zealand (19), South Africa (17), Kenya (15) and Argentina (13).

Interestingly the person causing quite a stir in Rugby circles is Carlin Isles, considered one of the fastest men in Rugby.  Although he is new to the game, he has proven to be difficult to catch.  That alone should make the American team one to watch this year.

The games will be held at the new 7he Sevens Stadium in Dubai. To learn more about the event, read about the teams, or purchase tickets, visit the official website.


Share to Google Plus

  • Print
  • Send to a Friend

    Email to a Friend

Be the first to respond to this story!


This form will not register you for the Email Newsletter

Join Us

twitter facebook Our Newsletter
Jamati YouTube Channel